top of page

A summer of legend

Daniel J. Brime 6°B



Last summer in July, I went with my uncle to Camping del Lago de Sanabria. One night with the full moon we went down to the beach and, as you know how much I like bells, he told me an amazing story! I hope you like it as much as I did:


The legend of Lake Sanabria


Many years ago, in the place that today occupies Lake Sanabria, there was a town called Valverde de Lucerna. The locals were selfish. On the night of San Juan, a rainy and stormy night, a man appeared with a cane and two shells; it was soaked to the bone. He knocked on one of the doors of a town house:


- Who calls at this time?

-A pilgrim in need of shelter and something to eat

-Are you a pilgrim? Well continue your way.


After this, he continued on his way to another house, where neither food nor shelter was offered him. In the third house he called and two women came out, who offered him fresh bread. The pilgrim, after thanking them said:


-You, women, will be the only ones who will save yourselves.

And aloud he pronounced:

-Here I put my cane, here sprouts a gargallón!


Where he nailed the cane, water began to flow into the town. The next day everything was flooded except a small island, the house where the two pious women offered him bread. After a while, a man tried to rescue from the bottom of the waters, the submerged bells of the church. He only managed to get one of them out.

They say that, since then, every June 24 you can hear the ringing of the one that remained in the background, in what is now Lake Sanabria.


The end.


71 visualizaciones

Entradas recientes

Ver todo

MINECRAFT

Basketball

My friends

Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page